Cannon leads contingent of C-State all-TCCAA honorees

SM-Tn Sports

Columbia State’s Diamond Cannon, Mya Byrd, Nya Caruthers, Jamari Bostic, Chris Nix and Amirion Joyce were each honored as all-TCCAA/Region 7 selections this week.

On the women’s side, Cannon was named the West Division Most Valuable Player. A sophomore, Cannon was the nation’s ninth-leading scorer, averaging 19.7 points per game for the Lady Chargers along with 9.3 rebounds per game.

Columbia State sophomore Diamond Cannon was named TCCAA West Division Most Valuable Player after averaging a league-leading 19.7 points per game this season for the Lady Chargers. (Courtesy photo)

She and Byrd were named first-team all-conference, with Caruthers receiving second-team recognition. Bostic was named to the men’s first team for the second straight season, with Nix – for the second year – and Joyce earning second-team honors.

The full list of honorees:


Most Valuable Player – Blayre Shultz, Walters State (East); Diamond Cannon, Columbia State (West); Freshman of the Year – Madison McCoy, Walters State (East); Ciara Taylor, Dyersburg State (West); Coach of the Year – Jasmin Coleman, Walters State; Evelyn Thompson, Cleveland State (East); Kelvin Lester, Jackson State (West)

First team – Shaquala Walton (Chattanooga State); Michaela Bennefield, Asjah Harrell (Cleveland State); Mya Byrd (Columbia State); Eva Singleton, Ciara Taylor (Dyersburg State); Makayla Transou (Jackson State); Daisha Seltzer (Southwest Tennessee); Madison McCoy, Quentarra Mitchell (Walters State)

Second team – Melisa Carter, Michelle Smith (Chattanooga State); Emma Harig (Cleveland State); Nya Caruthers (Columbia State); Kamille Clark (Jackson State); Stephanie Nwankwo (Motlow State); Kirby Brown, Brooke Christian (Roane State); Taliyah Brown (Southwest Tennessee); Olivia Delk, Anaya Martin (Volunteer State)


Most Valuable Player – De’Marius Boyd, Walters State (East); Brandon Mason, Southwest Tennessee (West); Freshman of the Year – Cameron Welch, Motlow State (East); Peyton West, Volunteer State (West); Coach of the Year – Lee Cigliano, Cleveland State (East); Amory Sanders, Southwest Tennessee (West)

First team – Maurice Dickson, Damien Forrest (Cleveland State); Jamari Bostic (Columbia State); Mark Edmond, Jean Iciano (Dyersburg State); Jarius Key, Jace Wallace (Motlow State); Jacob Naylor (Roane State); Jamey Sanders (Southwest Tennessee); Zach Morris (Volunteer State)

Second team – David Ware (Chattanooga State); Amirion Joyce, Chris Nix (Columbia State); Anterrious Rhyan (Motlow State); Elijah Cobb (Roane State); Nik Merriweather (Southwest Tennessee); Brennon Marsh, Peyton West (Volunteer State); Kajuan Hale, Tylar Haynes (Walters State)

Leave a Reply